## **ESTABLISHMENT MEETING MINUTES**

Meeting of representatives from Adventure Racing countries to elect nominees into the roles defined in the Draft Constitution for the Interim Committee of the new International Adventure Racing Association.

Thursday, 7 December 2023 @ 19h00 GMT held on Zoom

#### Attendance

- 1. Australia Kim Beckinsale
- 2. Australia Chris Dixon
- 3. Brazil Samuel Eloy
- 4. Brazil Warley Costa
- 5. Canada Alex Provost
- 6. Czech Republic Marek Navratil
- 7. Czech Republic Dana Jahn Odvody
- 8. Denmark / Norway Lars Bukkehave
- 9. France Romuald Viale
- 10. India Ajita Madan
- 11. India Sayeesha Kirani
- 12. Ireland Cormac Mac Donnell
- 13. Netherlands Ruurd Noordhuis
- 14. Netherlands Marijn Edelenbosch
- 15. South Africa Lisa De Speville
- 16. Spain Sergio Sanchez
- 17. Sweden Peter Carlberg
- 18. UK Damon De Boor
- 19. UK Ross Philips
- 20. Uruguay Alen Pujol
- 21. USA Adrian Crane
- 22. USA John Harris
- 23. Rob Howard SleepMonsters
- 24. Unknown Cliff White

#### Apologies

Australia - Maria Plyashechko Portugal - Pedro Pinto USA - Mike Garrison

#### Welcome and Introduction

The meeting began with a welcome and introduction from Cormac, who hosted and guided the proceedings. Lisa briefly outlined the recent steps that have led to this Establishment meeting. From the signing and endorsement of the Draft Constitution by countries with established national Adventure Racing organisations (12 countries) and representatives of 'Observer' countries (10 countries) to the collection of nominations for the positions on the Interim Committee of the new International Adventure Racing Association.

### Proposing and seconding nominees for roles on the Interim Committee

Some positions had only one nominee while others had more than one. Having multiple people available for roles like Membership Officer and Marketing & Media Officer is beneficial as these roles generally have many tasks (too much for one person) and require a variety of skills. In addition, their geographic locations vary, enabling better contact in zones like North & South America, Europe and Africa, and Australia, NZ and the Far East.

We are fortunate to have many people with skills and experience who have raised their hands to be involved.

Role	Name	Proposed	Seconded
Chairperson	Cormac Mac Donnell, Ireland	Damon	Lisa
<b>Operations Officer</b>	Marijn Edelenbosch, Netherlands	Lars	Lisa
General Administrator	Lisa de Speville, South Africa	Ross	Damon
Membership Officer	Marek Navratil, Czech Republic		
with support from	Warley Costa, Brazil	John	Ruurd
Communications Officer	Alen Pujol, Uruguay	Adrian	John
Finance Officer	Adrian Crane, USA	Damon	Alex
Marketing & Media Officer	Kati Vehmas, Finland & Samuel Eloy, Brazil	Lisa	Lars
with support from	Dana Jahn Odvody, Czech Republic John Harris, USA		

# International Adventure Racing Association Interim Committee for 2024

The meeting attendees confirmed that a media release would be distributed to Adventure Racing country organisations and contacts as well as relevant media to announce the establishment of the International Adventure Racing Association and interim committee that is now in place.

The International Adventure Racing Association is now in existence. Congratulations to all Adventure Racing countries for being a part of this adventure.

The committee will meet in early January 2024 to chart the way forward and plan tasks for 2024 in the lead up to the first AGM.

Recording of the Zoom meeting can be found here: https://www.ar-union.dk/files/IARA/IARAEstablishmentMeeting7dec.mp4

The meeting was adjourned.

ENDS